Alumni Meet at Lyallpur Khalsa College

Jalandhar 5 December (Jaswinder Azad)- Numerous old students including educationists, sportspersons, scientists and Scholars, relived their past for an evening in the Lyallpur Khalsa College campus on the occasion of the annual S. Balbir Singh Alumni meet. This particular edition of the Alumni meet was organized on the occasion of 78th Birth Anniversary of Sardar Babir Singh, former member parliament and former president of College Governing Council and also an alumnus of the college. A noted alumnus of the college, S. Mohinder Singh, (Senior Scientist Burkley University U.S.A) came as the special chief guest for this momentous occasion. S. HS Madaan, Session Judge, Patiala, S. Satsaroop Singh (Retd. IG), Col Hardev Singh Kaler, Iqbal Singh Sandhu, (ADC, Hoshiarpur), Shri Aaatma Ram (Principal Rashtryia Andh-Vidyalya), Olympian Surinder Singh Bhapa, Surinder Singh Sodhi (Retd IG) and many other notable dignitaries cum alumnus were also present on the occasion.
The president of the College Governing Council Sardarni Balbir Kaur welcomed the guests and said that the institution was proud of its alumni who carried the values and ethos imbibed in the college to national and international level. Speaking on the occasion, the College Principal Dr. GS Samra said that the institution owed a lot to the visionary guidance of Sardar Balbir Singh for its current status. He also informed that Mandeep Singh Jamsher a former student of the college has announced an annual grant of Rs. 50,000 to the needy students of the college. A cultural program including Songs, Poetry recitation, Skits were also presented by the staff and students of the college.
Prof. Sanjeev Anand, Corodinator of the Alumni Association formally thanked the assembled guests. The stage was conducted by Prof. Jasreen Kaur, College Registrar and Prof. Suman Chopra HOD History. Among distinguished people present were Deepinder Singh Purewal, S. Jaspal Singh Waraich Hony. Secretary, S. Avtar Singh Kang, S. Gurdeep Singh Sangha, S. Jagdeep Singh Shergill, S. Ajay Pal Singh Dhillon along with the other staff members.
Share on Google Plus

About Jaswinder Azad

    Blogger Comment
    Facebook Comment


Post a Comment